leaving home

Oh hey! Welcome to my travel blog!

While the title ‘travel blog’ kinda makes me squirm from being so, what is it…hackneyed? Ah well but that’s what it is I guess! With exactly t-20 days to take off, it’s time to share some stuuuuuuff!

Packing up a home is never easy. Anyone who’s moved can tell you that. There are massive items of furniture to be moved, friends to farewell and years, perhaps decades, of accumulated clothes, homewares, decorations and trinkety-crap to sort into keep, throw or it’s-so-hard-to-get-rid-of-but-I-know-I’ll-never-use-it piles.

Fortunately for me, in my 24 years of life I have had the privilege of moving 14 times – yes, 14! (even I was surprised when I counted!). Give or take 1 or 2 – as there were some blurry times there when I had 3 house keys on my key chain – but it gives us a rough estimate. Its a privilege because I have to say at about the 8th or 9th move, you start to get less sentimental about the half-used lipstick and kinder surprise toy you treasured as a child and start to become more brutal with the culling.

Last weekend I had a great day or two of whittling down my belongings towards the bare minimum as I prepare to pack my life into a luggage allowance of 40kg. My roommate and friend watched in horror as I mercilessly sacrificed item after item of clothing, furniture, hair-care product (clearly, never used it) and knick-knack. All went into big, plastic bags and straight into the charity bins (or adopted by my friend/roommate!)

I don’t think I have too much of a problem being a minimalist, I’m not particularly attached to any of my ‘stuff’, although I am sensing more and more it will be hard to leave my current home.

photo-1
trying to keep it simple…stupid!

I first moved into my current place at 16 to live with my Nan, who is probably the best person in the world. I’ve lived there on and off in the last 10 years, I’d say averaging out to about 4 years total – which is the longest I’ve lived anywhere in that time!

This house and this room has so many memories – spending time with my nan looking after me, spending time looking after my nan, high school hijinks and laughter-filled moments with my roommate – one of my best friends.

For the first time in a while it feels hard to leave behind bricks and mortar, something that previously didn’t bother me, or I feel…should be inconsequential.

Is it good to be attached to a place, is it bad? Eh, no point in worrying about that. That’s where I’m at for the moment, so that’s how it is!

So thanks for having a read! Click follow on the right side of the page if you want to keep up to date with my impending travels to the U.S.!

Oh, I won’t get started on the people I’m leaving yet, that’s just way too hard 🙂

One thought on “leaving home

Leave a Reply

